This angel food cake is almost sure to be a Weight Watchers classic!

My Aunt Patty came to town so I made her a fruit basket cake.  I used a boxed Angel Food cake from Betty Crocker; however, instead of using water (the only ingredient that is called to add to the cake mix), I used a 13 oz can of pineapple tidbits.  I am trying to loose 10 pounds with weight watchers and they previously recomended making an angel food cake this way- without he heavy whipping cream topping ofcourse!  I mixed the Angel Food cake with the can of pineapple and baked it for a good 40 minutes or so.  After the cake cooled, I stuck it in the freezer for an hour.  I then sliced the cake in half and  filled it with homemade whipped cream and  an assortment of fruit (mandarin oranges, pineapple, bananas and strawberries).  I honestly could not leave this cake alone.  Unfortunately, I was not able to take a picture of the entire cake itself… however, I was able  to snap a shot of my brother’s slice.

podtrt

May 9, 2009. Cakes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

